Miramar is the beach area of the Goan capital of Panjim, also known as Panaji and is one of the most visited beaches of Goa. It is one of the two only beaches in Panjim, other being Caranzalem Beach. Many people, mostly tourists, come to this beach every day.Originally named Porta de Gaspar Dias by the Portuguese, the name was then changed to Miramar.
Dona Paula is a former village, and tourist destination, in the suburbs of Panaji Goa India It is today home to the National Institute Of Oceanography and just alongside it lie the Goa University and the International Centre Goa. It is also home to a number of hotels, small and large, and the luxury Cidade de Goa is situated in the area.
This temple had its origins in Kushasthali Cortalim , a village in Saxty (Salcette) which fell to the invading Portuguese in 1543. In the year 1560, when the Portuguese started Christian Conversions in Salcate taluka, the Saraswats of Vatsa Gotra moved the Mangesh Linga from the original site at the Kushasthali or Cortalim on the banks of river Aghanashini (Zuari) to its present location at Mangeshi in Priol village of Atrunja Taluka, which was then ruled by the Hindu kings of Sonde of Antruz Mahal (Ponda) to be more secure.
Since the time of the shifting, the temple has been rebuilt and renovated twice during the reign of the Marathas and again in the year 1890. The final renovation occurred in the year 1973 when a golden Kalasha (holy vessel) was fitted atop the tallest dome of the temple,
The original site was a very simple structure, and the current structure was only built under Maratha rule, some 150 years after it had been moved. The Peshwas donated the village of Mangeshi to the temple in 1739 on the suggestion of their Sardar, Shri Ramchandra Malhar Sukhtankar, who was a staunch follower of Shri Mangesh. Ironically, just a few years after it was built, this area too fell into Portuguese hands in 1763, but by now, the Portuguese had lost their initial religious zeal and had become quite tolerant of other religions, and so, this structure remained untouched.
04- Balaji / Santadurga Temlpe
Shri Shantadurga Temple is a Private temple complex belonging to Goud Saraswat Brahmin community. 33 km (21 mi) from Panaji at the foothill of Kavalem village in Ponda Taluka, Goa India H.H.Shrimad Swamiji of ShriKavale Mathi is Spiritual head Of Shree Shantadurga Saunsthan,Kavale.
Shree Shantadurga is the Kuldevi (family deity) of many Gaud Saraswat Brahmin families only.
This current temple structure of Shree Shantadurga Devasthan was built during the period from 1713 AD to 1738 AD by Naroram Rege Mantri.On the 4th of December 2016, the temple completed its 450th year of existence. (Margashirsh Shuddh Panchmi)
Wax Museum & Art Gallery is a collection of
Life-size look-alike wax statues that speak of Indian
history, heritage and culture history, heritage and culture.
06-Old Goa Church
The city was founded in the 15th century as a port on the banks of the Mandovi river by the rulers of the Bijapur Sultanate.It was built to replace Govapuri, which lay a few kilometres to the south and had been used as a port by the Kadamba and Vijaynagar kings. Old Goa was the second capital after Bijapur of the rule of Adil Shahi Dynasty It was surrounded by a moat and contained the Shah’s palace, Mosques, and Temple, The city was Captured By The Portuguese and was under Portuguese rule from 1510 as the administrative seat of Portuguese India
The viceroy’s residence was transferred in 1759 to the future capital Panajim (a village about 9 kilometres to its west). Few remnants, if any, of the pre-Portuguese period remain at Old Goa.
During the mid-16th century, the Portuguese colony of Goa, especially Velha Goa, was the center of Christianisation in the East.The city was evangelized by all religious orders, since all of them had their headquarters there.The population was roughly 200,000 by 1543. Malaria and cholera epidemics ravaged the city in the 17th century and it was largely abandoned, only having a remaining population of 1,500 in 1775. It was then that the viceroy moved to Panjim. It continued to be the de jure capital of Goa until 1843, when the capital was shifted to Panjim (Ponnjê in Konkani, Nova Goa in Portuguese and Panaji in Hindi). The abandoned city came to be known as “Velha Goa” (in Portuguese, ‘Old Goa’), to distinguish it from the new capital Nova Goa (Panjim) and probably also Goa Velha (also meaning “Old Goa”), which was the Portuguese name for the town on the old site of Govapuri.
Velha Goa was incorporated into the Republic of India after its Annexation in 1961, with the rest of Goa. It retains its religious significance in modern-day Goa, notably in its relations with Roman Catholicism. The Archbishop of Goa and Daman holds title as the Patriarchs of The East India, Unlike the Patriarchs and the Major Archbishops of the Eastern Cathoilc Churches, the Patriarch of the East Indies only enjoys honorary title and is fully subject to the Pope He has a place in the Latin Church similar to the Patriarchs Of Venice and Lisbon This title was conferred upon the Archbishop of Goa as part of a settlement between the Holy See and the Portuguese government concerning the link between religious and political aspects of its territorie
07-Eveing River Cruise
The Mahadayi / Mandovi River (Mandovi, pronounced, also known as Mahadayi or Mhadei river, is described as the lifeline of the India state of GoaThe river has a length of 77 kilometres (48 miles), 29 kilometres (18 miles) in Karnataka and 52 kilometres (32 miles) in Goa. It originates from a cluster of 30 springs at Bhimgad in the Western Ghats in the Belagavi district of Karnataka.The river has a 2,032 km2 catchment area in Karnataka and a 1,580 km2 catchment area in Goa, With its cerulean waters,Dudhsagar Waterfall and Varpoha Falls it is also known as the Gomati in a few places. The Mandovi and the Zauri are the two primary rivers in the state of Goa.
08-Dolphin Point (optional)
Dolphin Trip is A fun Trip